Connor Williams Wins Agave Amateur

Connor Williams Holding the Agave Amateur Trophy

INDIO, California—Connor Williams (Escondido, CA) shot a final round one-under par 70, to go along with previous rounds of 69 and 66, to win the Agave Amateur at -8.  He was one shot ahead of Alexander Gibalevich (Studio City, CA).  Gibalevich, a current golfer at the University of Denver, and Williams, a high school senior committed to attend Arizona State, were neck-and-neck throughout the day with the deciding one shot difference determined on the 18th green.  Gibalevich had a ferocious lip-out on an 8 foot par putt that allowed Williams to earn the victory.  Another shot back in third was Shane Muldowney (Carlsbad, CA) shot the low round of the tournament, a five-under par 66 to surge into third place.

WILLIAMS ON THE WIN:  “This win means a lot as it is my first amateur win and knowing I can compete with collegiate and older players.  It gives me confidence I can compete on the amateur level and still win after facing adversity. I had a really good stretch of golf in my last 16 holes the second round, shooting 29 on the back after starting my round +3 thru 2 holes. I stayed patient and took my opportunities when they came to me this week.”

SHADOW HILLS:  Shadow Hills showed its teeth with very fast, firm, and smooth greens all week.  Eight-under par is the ‘highest’ winning score in the history of the tournament.  Apart from cool temperatures each morning, perfect weather was on hand all week in Indio.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR LIST:  Tyler Kowack is the current points leader with three tournaments remaining in the season. You can find the full points list at

FULL RESULTS:  Attached and available at

TROON SAGUARO AMATEUR SERIES:  The Troon Saguaro Amateur Series is a world-ranked amateur tournament series that is hosting 12 tournaments in the 2022-23 season.  The Agave Amateur is the 8th tournament in the 2022-23 Troon Saguaro Amateur Series.  2022 marks the 6th year of the Agave Amateur, all held at Shadow Hills Golf Club. The full Series schedule and Player of the Year standings are available at as well as at  The next event in the Troon Saguaro Amateur Series will be the inaugural Coachella Amateur, with practice rounds starting tomorrow at nearby Terra Lago Golf Club (North Course) and competition rounds being held Wednesday-Friday.

Click Here For Tournament Results

Roy Edwards

Chairman, Troon Saguaro Amateur Series

Head Men’s Golf Coach, University of Colorado

Joe Jensen

Vice Chairman, Troon Saguaro Amateur Series

Director of Golf, University of Wyoming